Durga Pujo 2014 @ Jamshedpur – Maha Navami


Sorry, again I am again behind schedule in posting my update for Navami on 3rd October, 2014. Studies and tuition classes. . .  As I had already specified the peculiarity surrounding the timings of Durga Puja, this year Navami and Dashami are on the same day! One day less! Arghh. I wait all through the year for these little and precious five days and this year even that was deprived. Blasphemy for happiness. But anyways in Jamshedpur the pujo committees decided to defer the immersion till the next day (Saturday) since officially Dashami would end at around 6 in the morning. Now that was good news.

In the morning as usual I lazed around solving Integrals (it’s a vary, vary long chapter) while my parents went to Govindpur to meet my mother’s mama and mami who live there. So I was left alone with my grandmother to spend the day. Nothing extraordinary.

In the evening we decided to go to the C. H. Area Pujo but oh! The crowds.

People so, so many people. It was as if the entire residents of this city were out on roads. Thieves if they wanted could have had a gala time. This crowd was not made up entirely of Jamshedpur residents but from its suburbs as well. From Chandil, Haldipukur, Hata, Chaibasa and all the other small towns. Over the years their mode of transportation has evolved. From walking to now tempos and SUV’s. But unfortunately these vehicles are excessively crowded with passengers double or even triple the numbers. I saw one policeman arguing with the driver of one such vehicle in the evening. It was all useless, I thought. No one is going to give a damn to the law and order.

Moving, Moving and Moving. From my verandah, I saw the stream of people from as early as 4pm, increasing steadily as evening fell. Tonight is the last night and everyone wants their piece of joy. Good. Good. After all it’s a Sarbojonin Pujo. The crowds dissuaded my father from taking out his car and going to the JSA Ground barely 2 kms from my home. I was a bit disappointed. The thought of spending Navami at home is really a very bad thought.

Nevertheless I tried to bring my persuasive powers to play over here and finally succeeded in convincing my father to at least visit the nearby pandals on foot. I could take my DSLR again. Yippie! We went to the Rankini Mandir one, the New Farm Area and the Old Farm Area pandals. So that was all my Navami. Now I leave my pictures to do rest of the story telling.

Outside my home
Outside my home
Rankini Mandir Kadma Pujo 2014
Rankini Mandir Kadma Pujo 2014
Rankini Mandir Kadma Pujo 2014 - Brahmakumari's Ramayan Show
Rankini Mandir Kadma Pujo 2014 – Brahmakumari’s Ramayan Show
Rankini Mandir Kadma Protima 2014
Rankini Mandir Kadma Protima 2014
Rankini Mandir Kadma Pujo 2014 - Interior
Rankini Mandir Kadma Pujo 2014 – Interior
Navami Crowds 2014 @ Kadma
Navami Crowds 2014 @ Kadma
New Farm Area Pandal 2014
New Farm Area Pandal 2014
New Farm Area Pandal 2014 - The Fountian
New Farm Area Pandal 2014 – The Fountian
New Farm Area Protima 2014
New Farm Area Protima 2014
Masks and Balloons @ mela in New Farm Area Pujo 2014
Masks and Balloons @ mela in New Farm Area Pujo 2014
Old Farm Area Protima 2014
Old Farm Area Protima 2014
Old Farm Area Dhakis 2014
Old Farm Area Dhakis 2014
Old Farm Area Pujo 2014 - Peacock
Old Farm Area Pujo 2014 – Peacock
People - Old Farm Area Pujo 2014
People – Old Farm Area Pujo 2014
Old Farm Area Pujo 2014 - Jhalmuri. Anyone?
Old Farm Area Pujo 2014 – Jhalmuri. Anyone?

Postscript – As my earlier post I have downsized the image size and quality. If anyone wants the better version of the image then you can mail me at sohamlive@ymail.com and I will happily provide you the image. I will also be doing a Dashami post maybe tomorrow or the day after.

2 thoughts on “Durga Pujo 2014 @ Jamshedpur – Maha Navami

Please leave your reply

